Like this page? Click here:

Synopsis: Picard leads a new Enterprise on another voyage of exploration.

Reaction: A bit of a rocky start, but most of the elements are already present for the series it would become.

Personal Rating: 7/10

"The Battle" and "Symbiosis"

Select Guest Cast
Anna Katarina => Valeda (Haven)
Armin Shimerman => Gift-Box Face (Haven)
Carel Struycken => Mr. Homn (Haven)
Majel Barrett => Lwaxana Troi (Haven)
Nan Martin => Victoria Miller (Haven)
Robert Knepper => Wyatt Miller (as Rob Knepper) (Haven)
Anthony James => Subcommander Thei (The Neutral Zone)
Gracie Harrison => Clare Raymond (The Neutral Zone)
Leon Rippy => L.Q. 'Sonny' Clemmons (The Neutral Zone)
Marc Alaimo => Commander Tebok (The Neutral Zone)
Peter Mark Richman => Ralph Offenhouse (The Neutral Zone)
Armin Shimerman => Letek (The Last Outpost)
Darryl Henriques => Portal (The Last Outpost)
Tracey Walter => Kayron (The Last Outpost)
Brenda Bakke => Rivan (Justice)
Brenda Strong => Rashella (When the Bough Breaks)
Dan Mason => Accolan (When the Bough Breaks)
Jerry Hardin => Radue (When the Bough Breaks)
McKenzie Westmore => Rose (When the Bough Breaks)
Brent Spiner => Lore (Datalore)
Brooke Bundy => Sarah MacDougal (The Naked Now)
Carolyn McCormick => Minuet (11001001)
Cary-Hiroyuki Tagawa => Mandarin Bailiff (Encounter at Farpoint)
John de Lancie => Q (Encounter at Farpoint)
Michael Bell => Zorn (Encounter at Farpoint)
Clayton Rohner => Admiral Mark Jameson (Too Short a Season)
Marsha Hunt => Anne Jameson (Too Short a Season)
Michael Pataki => Karnas (Too Short a Season)
David Selburg => Whalen (The Big Goodbye)
Dick Miller => Vendor (The Big Goodbye)
Lawrence Tierney => Cyrus Redblock (The Big Goodbye)
Eric Menyuk => The Traveler (Where No One Has Gone Before)
Herta Ware => Yvette Picard (Where No One Has Gone Before)
Stanley Kamel => Kosinski (Where No One Has Gone Before)
Frank Corsentino => DaiMon Bok (The Battle)
Isabel García Lorca => Gabrielle (as Isabel Lorca) (We'll Always Have Paris)
Michelle Phillips => Jenice Manheim (We'll Always Have Paris)
Rod Loomis => Dr. Paul Manheim (We'll Always Have Paris)
Jessie Lawrence Ferguson => Lutan (Code of Honor)
Karole Selmon => Yareena (Code of Honor)
Judson Scott => Sobi (as Judson Scott) (Symbiosis)
Merritt Butrick => T'Jon (Symbiosis)
Richard Lineback => Romas (Symbiosis)
Karen Montgomery => Beata (Angel One)
Patricia McPherson => Ariel (Angel One)
Sam Hennings => Ramsey (Angel One)
Robert Ito => Lt. Chang (Coming of Age)
Tasia Valenza => T'Shanik (Coming of Age)
Ron Gans => Voice of Armus (voice) (Skin of Evil)
Vaughn Armstrong => Captain Korris (Heart of Glory)
Vincent Schiavelli => The Peddler (Arsenal of Freedom)
Walter Gotell => Kurt Mandl (Home Soil)
Cliff Bole => Director
Corey Allen => Director
James L. Conway => Director
Joseph L. Scanlan => Director
Kim Manners => Director
Les Landau => Director
Michael Ray Rhodes => Director
Michael Vejar => Director
Paul Lynch => Director
Richard A. Colla => Director
Richard Compton => Director
Rob Bowman => Director
Robert Becker => Director
Russ Mayberry => Director
Win Phelps => Director
D.C. Fontana => Writer
Deborah Dean Davis => Writer
Diane Duane => Writer
Gene Roddenberry => Writer / Creator, Original Series
Hannah Louise Shearer => Writer
Hans Beimler => Writer
Herbert Wright => Writer
Joseph Stefano => Writer
Katharyn Powers => Writer
Maurice Hurley => Writer
Michael Baron => Writer
Michael Michaelian => Writer
Michael Reaves => Writer
Patrick Barry => Writer
Richard Manning => Writer
Robert Lewin => Writer
Robert Sabaroff => Writer
Sandy Fries => Writer
Tracy Tormé => Writer
Worley Thorne => Writer
Jerry Goldsmith => Composer
Brent Spiner => Lt. Commander Data
Colm Meaney => Chief Miles O'Brien
Denise Crosby => Lieutenant Tasha Yar
Gates McFadden => Doctor Beverly Crusher
Jonathan Frakes => Commander William T. Riker
LeVar Burton => Geordi La Forge
Majel Barrett => Enterprise Computer
Marina Sirtis => Counselor Deanna Troi
Michael Dorn => Lieutenant Worf
Patrick Stewart => Captain Jean-Luc Picard
Wil Wheaton => Wesley Crusher

Random Trivia For This Title:

  • The death of Tasha Yar in {Skin of Evil} marked the first (but not the last) time a continuing Trek character was killed off. (Spock doesn't count as he was revived).
  • Gene Roddenberry's original scripts for [TNG]'s premiere story, {Encounter at Farpoint}, did not include any scenes set in the Enterprise's engine room. When he learned that Paramount was therefore refusing to pay to build an engine room set, he revised the scripts to include the engine room.
  • The Ferengi were originally introduced with the intention of making them the main, recurring adversaries in the series (very much as the Klingons were in the original series). However, audiences found the Ferengi too comical to take seriously as potential foes, and the race were gradually refined into the more (usually unintentionally) comical characters as later typified by Quark in [Star Trek: Deep Space Nine]. The Borg would eventually become infamous as [TNG]'s ultimate nemesis.
  • The diamond-shaped chrome shelf unit in the Farpoint Mall set comes from Kirk's apartment in Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan.
  • Originally, Data was to be the Chief Science Officer of the Enterprise, (much like Spock was on the original [Star Trek]) and sport a blue tunic. However, the blue tunic clashed with his android make-up and the idea was scrapped. Data was re-assigned as Chief Operations Officer of the Enterprise and sported a gold tunic for all seven seasons (except for the two-part episode [{Chain of Command}] in which he is promoted to first officer and wears a red tunic).
  • Near the end of the episode {Symbiosis} when Captain Picard and Doctor Crusher walk out of the Cargo Bay look in the background and you will see Tasha Yar (Denise Crosby) waving at the camera, as this was the last episode she filmed before she left the first time.
  • The 1988 episode {The Neutral Zone} was a milestone in the history of [Star Trek] by establishing that the first season of [TNG] took place in the year 2364. This was the first time an exact calendar date was provided for a Trek episode. All Star Trek episodes, chronologies, novels and background information since 1988 have been calculated from this date.
  • Each of the three live-action [Star Trek] series after the original [Star Trek] has had a cameo appearance by a character from its predecessor series in its premiere episode: [Star Trek: The Next Generation] had Dr. McCoy.
  • Deanna Troi was nearly written out after the first season and in fact is absent from many year one episodes. But after both Tasha Yar and Dr. Crusher were written out, Troi was kept.
  • [Star Trek: The Next Generation] borrowed its theme music from Star Trek: The Motion Picture.
  • The character of Tasha Yar was originally to be a Latina named Macha Hernandez, inspired by the tough female marine Vasquez in Aliens. In fact, Jenette Goldstein (who played Vasquez) auditioned for this character, and later played the Enterprise-B science officer in Star Trek: Generations.