Like this page? Click here:
Back to Book ListEdit Title

The Chronicles of Narnia

Author(s): E.J. Kirk
C.S. Lewis
Publisher: Barnes & Noble
Pages: 800
Personal Rating: 0/10
Amazon: 4.5/5
Goodreads: 4/5
Bindings:Leather Bound
Click here to see list
C. S. Lewis was famous both as a fiction writer and as a Christian thinker, and scholars sometimes divide his personality in two. Yet a large part of Lewis's appeal, for both his audiences, lay in his ability to fuse imagination with instruction. "Let the pictures tell you their own moral," he once advised writers of children's stories. "But if they don't show you any moral, don't put one in."
I am not a fan of this trend where people keep publishing the Narnia series in the wrong order. There is no good reason to read the books in chronological order until after you've already read the books in their original published order:
The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe [1950]
Prince Caspian [1951]
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader [1951]
The Silver Chair [1953]
The Horse and His Boy [1954]
The Magician's Nephew [1955]
The Last Battle [1956]

Otherwise, it's a great series.