Like this page? Click here:
Back to Book ListEdit Title

Mr. Midshipman Hornblower

Author: C.S. Forester
Pages: 310
Personal Rating: 0/10
Amazon: 4.5/5
Goodreads: 4/5
Bindings:Paper Back
Click here to see list
The year is 1793, the eve of the Napoleonic Wars, and Horatio Hornblower, a seventeen-year-old boy unschooled in seafaring and the ways of seamen, is ordered to board a French merchant ship and take command of crew and cargo for the glory of England. Though not an unqualified success, this first naval adventure teaches the young midshipman enough to launch him on a series of increasingly glorious exploits. This novel-in which young Horatio gets his sea legs, proves his mettle, and shows the makings of the legend he will become-is the first of the eleven swashbuckling Hornblower tales that are today regarded as classic adventure stories of the sea.
While the publication order of the Hornblower books follows Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies, Beat to Quarters, Commodore Hornblower, Flying Colour, Hornblower and the Atropos, Hornblower and the Hotspur, Hornblower During the Crisis, Lieutenant Hornblower, Lord Hornblower, Mr. Midshipman Hornblower, Ship of the Line, the chronological order of the stories follows Mr. Midshipman Hornblower, Lieutenant Hornblower, Hornblower and the Hotspur, Hornblower During the Crisis, Hornblower and the Atropos, Beat to Quarters, Ship of the Line, Flying Colour, Commodore Hornblower, Lord Hornblower, Admiral Hornblower in the West Indies.
This book served as inspiration for the first movies in the televised Horatio Hornblower series starring Ioan Gruffudd: Horatio Hornblower: The Duel, Horatio Hornblower: The Fire Ship, Horatio Hornblower: The Duchess and the Devil, and Horatio Hornblower: The Wrong War